Best Australian Blogs 2013 Competition Australian Writers' Centre Register interest

2013 Competition details

The Australian blogosphere is a wide and wonderful place. There are lots of categories and smaller prizes in the 2013 Best Australian Blogs Competition, but you only need to fill in the entry form once.

We're delighted to welcome Random House as the 2013 competition sponsor.

Key dates

Which category should I enter?

Entrants to the competition need to enter a particular category, so they're compared to similar blogs. The five categories allow us to recognise five outstanding bloggers, from which the overall winner is selected. You'll find more information on each category below. But we know blogs are wonderfully diverse, and some bloggers find it hard to work out which category to enter as many blogs cover a wide range of topics.

If you think you've made the wrong category choice, don't worry. You can change the category you've entered up to 28 March. If we think your blog is a potential finalist or winner in another category, we'll get in touch and ask if you'd like to change categories.

Here are the categories:


For those who are blogging about a particular industry or area such as politics, media, sport, marketing and PR, technology, cultural industries such as theatre and the arts, international relations, advocacy and human rights.

Commentary category judge:
Greg Jericho, author of The Rise of the Fifth Estate: social media and blogging in Australian politics and social commentator, will select the winner for this category.

You can follow Greg at @grogsgamut.


For those who are writing about their lifestyle and hobbies. This category is for blogs about travel, food and beverages, health, fashion, craft, interior design and any other wonderful topic you've dedicated your blog to.

Lifestyle/Hobby category judge:
Marina Go, veteran magazine editor and Publisher at Private Media (Crikey, Women's Agenda, Leading Company etc) will select the winner for this category.

You can follow Marina at @MarinaSGo.

Personal and Parenting

For bloggers sharing their lives, reflections and their story online. Your blog will probably cover topics from the other categories but if it's mainly your story or ideas, this is the category for you.

Personal and Parenting category judge:
Kerri Sackville, blogger, journalist and author of When My Husband Does the Dishes and The Little Book of Anxiety, will select the winner for this round.

You can follow Kerri at @kerrisackville .


For business owners, marketing managers and professional community coordinators. Blogging to build a community and promote an online business is a unique challenge facing business today. This category celebrates the blogs that communicate their expertise, workplace culture and industry well.

Business category judge:
Robert Gerrish, founder of Flying Solo, will select the winner for this round.

You can follow Robert at @flyingsoloAU .

Words and writing

For those who are blogging mostly about their writing experiences, book reviews, publishing, self-publishing, epublishing, book design, book publicity, and author blogs. We realised this category could also fit into commentary, but at the Australian Writers' Centre we are committed to celebrating this valuable part of the blogosphere in a separate category. After all, it's the wonderful world of writing that inspired this competition in the first place.

Words and writing category judge:
Brandon Van Over, managing editor at Random House, will select the winner for
this category.

What are the special awards?

This year there are five special awards. Each winner will receive $400 worth of online or face-to-face courses at the
Australian Writers' Centre.

Special awards were introduced in the 2012 competition to recognise outstanding posts and emerging bloggers.

Outstanding New Blog

For an exceptional blog that is under six months old.

Outstanding Advocacy Post

For an exceptional post explaining, advocating or fundraising for a cause or issue.
(For posts written after April 2012.)

Outstanding Humorous Post

For the funniest post entered in this special award round.
(For posts written after April 2012.)

Outstanding Use of Photography

For a post with beautiful photos used well.
(For posts written after April 2012.)

Honourable mention

For a blogger who may not have made it to the finalist round but stood out from the crowd.
(This is only awarded if there is a blog that fits the bill.)

Do I need to be nominated?

No. Nominations are a great way to encourage other people to enter, but you don't need to wait for one.
About 90% of bloggers in 2012 entered without nominations.

How does the judging work?

The team at the Australian Writers' Centre read all the entries and create a longlist for each category. After hours and hours of discussion and re-reading, these become shortlists. The shortlists are announced finalists. Each shortlist is sent to the relevant category judge, who scores the finalists and selects the category winner.

The category winning blogs then go into a final round. In the final round, these blogs are scored again by the category judges and competition coordinator. The blog with the highest score wins the 2013 title.

An Australian Writers' Centre initiative
Suite 3, 55 Lavender Street, Milsons Point NSW 2061

Website terms of use | Privacy policy | Anti-spam policy | External links policy